Haiku View…Maui

Marissa’s View 

Here’s another Maui sketch…this time from Up-Country, in Haiku. Unfortunately the photo doesn’t do the sketch justice. The left side is all washed out.I don’t have a scanner here, so I have to try to photograph it…yuk! Anyways, it’ll do.  
I love it so much up in Haiku. It’s the country, what I’m used to. Away from the tourists and the crowds and the traffic. It’s just so relaxing. We had a nice visit with our friend’s Marisa and Chip yesterday and as we sat on the deck, Bill played guitar, and I chatted and sketched the view. I was taken by the atmospheric sense of distance, and that’s what first inspired me to sketch this scene…the light is great up there! I loved the hill, and how the graceful tree shape echoed it…and I just love those crooked fenceposts. It was a bonus that as I was finishing up, some cows and a horse wandered through the scene!

Published by Tahirih Goffic

After a tumultuous past as a goat milker, laundress, fine art major, waitress and restaurant owner, I've now downscaled to running my own Cafe/Gallery in an effort to maintain a social life and make a few bucks. I live a ridiculously idyllic existence in a fairytale village called Bella Coola on the West Coast of British Columbia with my charming musician husband, two amazingly creative children, and a dog whose favourite past time is eating rotten dead fish and rolling in poo. In my not so spare time I love to invent healthy whole food recipes, write YA fiction, play guitar, or curl up in my favourite chair with a great book and a gigantic mug of strong black coffee, all while daydreaming of living in Ireland...

6 thoughts on “Haiku View…Maui

Leave a comment